Weekly Update #3: 5/6 – 5/12

Unquestionably a great week. Yet at the same time, so very busy. More gaming was accomplished this week than last, but not too much. I still haven’t beaten a game since EARLY APRIL – over a month ago! Fortunately, I’ve been tame and haven’t fed Bak’laag either. I actually have no plans to do so…for a long time.

Gaming

Decided that for the purposes of the Backloggery, I won’t be counting Final Fantasy XI as “Now Playing”, even if I am. Haven’t played it in a long time and may quit, since I plan to play a game with my friend James, and we may decide on a different MMO. In any case, not gonna be on the Now Playing list as I feel it clutters it. In other gaming news, I’ve continued some quests and am nearing the end of TWO different games.


Continued playing this beast. It’s still good, but I’m finding myself kind of running out of patience with it. It’s too jarring running around two different “histories” all the time, trying to keep events and what people are doing straight, and I constantly feel like nothing really significant has happened. The game does a great job of masking the slow pacing for the most part, but it’s really started to become an issue lately. Anyway, I may review it later, but I might not. I don’t know if I really want to start a review section on this blog – we’ll see.

I started playing this Thursday and as of yesterday I had just beaten the fourth dungeon. After playing it a bit more, I’ve reached the final dungeon. Just getting there is really hard; however, I think I can beat it tomorrow.

Other games I should be playing but haven’t really this week:

Europa Universalis III
Final Fantasy VII
Final Fantasy XI

Sorry Final Fantasy fans! Haven’t been in the mood.

Life, the Universe, and Everything Else

This past weekend was amazing. It is a prime candidate for best weekend ever. To really do it justice, we have to begin last Thursday, when I got my new Michael Jackson jacket. I bought myself a graduation gift of a 100% leather Thriller jacket, and it’s probably the most comfortable jacket I’ve ever worn. I went out in it and got approached like 30 times by people complimenting it or me – no joke. It was crazy the amount of attention I received, which I’m not super used to. Needless to say, that night was a lot of fun.

That Friday night was also great, as the movie Thor was finally released. Now, some of you may not know this, but I am a big Thor fan – he’s easily my favorite superhero and several years ago I dressed up as him for Halloween. I’ve been eying the release of this movie since 2008, warily and with some anticipation. So, I’m pleased to say that I’m relatively happy with the end result. I went in with some dread, because Marvel movies are super hit-or-miss for me, but Thor, I thought, was more of a hit. And I got to see it with my dad! Great night.

Next, Saturday. Wonderful day, first of all, spending time with my family and friends during the day. My dad dragged my mom, me, and my friend all the way out to the middle of nowhere to find a Harbor Freight, then we ended up not really buying anything there. But it was still a lot of fun. That night though was when it really got awesome! My friends James and Amy bought me a ticket to join them in going to a Distant Worlds concert. For those who don’t know, Distant Worlds is a touring group that makes use of symphonies worldwide to play Final Fantasy music. So…basically, it was a symphony orchestra playing Final Fantasy music, which is amazing. As an added bonus, Nobou Uematsu, the composer of that music, made a special appearance and got onstage. It was awesome! They did the Opera scene from FF6, Terra’s Theme, then a surprise One Winged Angel, as well as a bunch of other stuff. We had a blast.

Sunday was great because I got to watch the Lakers get swept and then got great food. I’m a basketball fan, but I’m more of a hater than anything – I despise the Lakers and root for them to lose, no matter who is playing them. Their recent success, you might imagine, has pissed me off lately, but it was great to see them lose. I don’t really care about basketball anymore now that they’re removed.

Monday, graduated. Obviously a bittersweet thing, but more sweet than bitter.

The rest of the week I haven’t been up to much. Almost all the gaming I covered in the previous section occurred during this stretch, between Tuesday and Thursday. Today (Friday), I mostly just packed for my impeding move, and tomorrow I fly out to Houston for a month. Have no idea what I’ll be doing there, really.


This entry was posted in Weekly Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

